This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.
Book Now

Reviews

8.4 Review score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
9.0
Comfort
8.6
Property location
7.0
Facilities
8.4
Staff
9.5
Value
8.2
Reviews
    Simonetta
    gb
    9.6
    24 November 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    RoseJaeger
    fr
    9.2
    21 November 2017
    Pretty and comfy and a real feel of Japanese traditional stay
    It's pretty far from the station, but there is a shuttle if you don't check in too late
    Everyone was so welcoming and nice I really felt home
    Vincent
    sg
    6.7
    4 November 2017
    An average to above average stay
    Location is off city centre. Difficult to reach the hotel even from the nearest train station. No taxi from the nearest train station. The hotel staff was very helpful in getting a taxi to fetch us from the nearest train station
    Great and supportive staff; good dinner
    Keith
    us
    9.6
    1 November 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    LIQIANG
    au
    9.2
    13 October 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    David
    gb
    9.2
    19 September 2017
    A really memorable and authentic Ryokan with one of the best dinners we had in Japan.
    Johannes
    gb
    8.3
    4 September 2017
    Great family run place, not the perfect location but free shuttle
    The location isn't amazing as it's quite far away from the castle and the train station.
    It's a family run Ryokan with fantastic food. We went for the 'easy option' for dinner (¥2200 p.p.) and it was plenty of really amazing food. We also used their bath, which we could reserve for free. The also have a free shuttle service to the bus/train station. The personnel is super nice too so we really enjoyed our stay.
    Amanda
    sg
    8.3
    25 June 2017
    Very friendly staff
    Alastair
    jp
    6.2
    23 April 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Wing Seng
    sg
    9.2
    15 April 2017
    Authentic Japanese style lodging
    Shared toilet was a bit getting use to but overall an interesting experience.
    Staff was family, great breakfast spread! Location is quiet but the sightseeings are all nearby if you drive.
    Glendon
    au
    9.2
    23 November 2016
    Highly recommended.
    The wash basins were in public areas.
    The Italian chef was brilliant (his wife too). The place was immaculate. The courtesy bus service was exemplary.
    Daniel
    ie
    9.6
    9 November 2016
    A great night in an amazing place
    Incredibly friendly and welcoming staff. The building itself is absolutely charming and so much better than any generic hotels. There's a shuttle service offered, which makes up for the less than ideal location. The dinner was a amazing experience, with so many different dishes which both looked beautiful and tasted great! The staff's level of english was very very basic, but their service was so good that it absolutely made up for this. We wish we could have spent more nights here, however our plans didn't allow for it! Absolutely recommended, and whenever I have the chance to go back to Japan I'll probably head to this place again just to repeat the experience.
    william
    gb
    9.6
    3 November 2016
    don't let the location put you off
    located now in a commercial area, must have been countryside once
    very friendly staff and spoke some English we used the shuttle bus to get into town and home again, no problem
    David
    gb
    9.2
    2 November 2016
    Wonderful stay
    What a fabulous experience. The staff were wonderful and could not do enough for you. Although limited English they were obviously trying their best to improve. We were half board and the food was outstanding.
    il
    7.5
    24 October 2016
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Travel bug
    au
    7.5
    21 October 2016
    Warm friendly ryokan
    The location is a little out of the way. The family bath was small and claustrophobic.
    The staff running this ryokan were really some of the most sweet and friendly people I've encountered in Japan. The room was comfortable and plenty large enough for our family of 5. The Japanese style breakfast was good.
    Rebecca
    us
    7.5
    15 October 2016
    For out of towners without a car, the location is really inconvenient. I wouldn't recommend the ryokan because of the location.
    The staff was very sweet and the rooms were comfy. There's a shuttle service in the morning and evening.
    patrick
    us
    7.5
    14 October 2016
    A great ryokan to stay in Beppu, Japan
    I take stairs whenever possible, but the ones in this lodging had no bannisters so I felt uncomfortable in using them.
    The onsen was fab. and the ryokan was very pleasant to be in. The staff were very nice but had a little hard time in conversational English
    Mikael
    dk
    9.2
    7 October 2016
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Corinna Mattner
    jp
    8.0
    30 August 2016
    Jewel in the outskirts
    Actually we liked everything, only the Shuttle service could be a little more flexible, even if you are the only guests using it they have to stick to the times. It runs at 9 am, 10am and back only at 3.30 pm and 5.30pm none back in the evening. However, the drivers are all very helpful, nice and dropping you of where you want to go, if possible. And thousand times better than no shuttle at all, since the place is out in the industrial area, which is also good, as you can walk to Sushi Rondell place or a mall, 100yen shop, all very original you would never find as a tourist...
    Very lovely people run this place! They are very concerned about the guests, helpful, take care of any problem and moreover wait until you are home before locking the front door at 10pm. They are offering a shuttle to and from the centre and there is also a family onsen which you can either make a reservation for or just use if empty after the reception times. The bath is also open during the night.
Loading reviews
Close